Please Tell Us Your City

Knowing your city will help us provide relevant content to you.

Sorry! No matching results found. Try again.Error Identifying Your Location.

Volvo XC40 wins Premium Car Award 2019 by ICOTY

December 21, 2018, 01:58 PM IST by Vikrant Singh
Volvo XC40 wins Premium Car Award 2019 by ICOTY

Volvo XC40 has been awarded the first ever Premium Car Award by ICOTY. ICOTY or the Indian Car of the Year is India’s most coveted car award. 

Now, among other things, India relevance is a strong consideration factor when it comes to awarding points for ICOTY. And that over the years has meant that the luxury or expensive cars – no matter how good – have never really had a chance at winning the ICOTY given our market is skewed towards lower priced offerings. 

But, to give the luxury cars their due, the Indian Car of the Year jury this year has introduced the Premium Car Award under the aegis of the ICOTY. All cars – made in India, CKDs or even CBUs – that are priced upwards of Rs 40 lakhs are considered for this award. And the same jury that votes for the ICOTY also votes for the Premium Car Award. 

Volvo XC40 wins Premium Car Award 2019 by ICOTY

This year, the Premium Car Award shortlist included the Audi Q5, the Audi RS5, the BMW X3, the BMW 6 Series GT, the Mini Countryman, the Volvo XC60, the Range Rover Velar, the Lexus ES300H, the Mercedes-AMG E63 S, and the Porsche Cayenne, besides the Volvo XC40. Of this list, the XC60 finished second followed by the E63 S AMG.

As for the jury, it included Yogendra Pratap (Auto Today), Rahul Ghosh (Auto Today), Dhruv Behl (Auto X), Ishan Raghava  (Auto X), Aspi Bhathena (Car India), Sarmad Kadri (Car India), Sirish Chandran (Evo India), Aninda Sardar (Evo India), Kartik Ware (Motoring World), Raunak Ajinkya (Motoring World), Abhay Verma (Overdrive), Rohit Paradkar (Overdrive),  Girish Karkera (Top Gear), Agasti Kaulgi (Top Gear), Muralidhar Swaminathan (The Hindu Business Line), Pablo Chaterji (Man’s World), Hani Musthafa (Flywheel) and Vikrant Singh (CarWale).

The award was presented by Dr. Raghupati Singhania, Chairman & Managing Director, JK Tyre & Industries Limited on behalf of the ICOTY committee. It was received by Charles Frump, Managing Director, Volvo Auto India. Yogendra Pratap, Chairman of the ICOTY, also presented Volvo with the winner's certificate that was signed by all the esteemed jury members.

Volvo XC40

  • Volvo
  • Volvo XC40
  • XC40
  • FaceBook Logo
  • Twitter Logo
  • Email Logo
Show CommentsHide Comments

Volvo XC40 Price in India

CityOn-Road Prices
Mumbai₹ 51.42 Lakhs onwards
Bangalore₹ 50.97 Lakhs onwards
New Delhi₹ 48.39 Lakhs onwards
Pune₹ 50.03 Lakhs onwards
Hyderabad₹ 47.96 Lakhs onwards
Ahmedabad₹ 48.88 Lakhs onwards
Chennai₹ 48.87 Lakhs onwards
Kolkata₹ 45.93 Lakhs onwards
Chandigarh₹ 45.17 Lakhs onwards

Popular Videos

2018 Volvo XC40 | Launch Review | CarWale

2018 Volvo XC40 | Launch Review | CarWale

24th Oct 2019

50L - ₹ 60L
Tata Tiago EVTata Tiago EV

Nov 2019

5L - ₹ 7L
Hyundai Tucson FaceliftHyundai Tucson Facelift

Nov 2019

18L - ₹ 20L
Tata Tigor FaceliftTata Tigor Facelift

Nov 2019

6L - ₹ 7L
Audi Q2Audi Q2

Nov 2019

28L - ₹ 32L
All Upcoming Cars
Ask the experts1800 2090 230Mon-Fri (9 AM - 8 PM)
Sat (9 AM - 5:30 PM)
Sun (9 AM - 7 PM)
Toll free


  • 00DAYS
  • 00HRS
  • 00MINS
  • 00SEC

Days To Go!

Official Tyre Partner:

Know More

Select your city to avail offers

Currently available only in