Please Tell Us Your City

Knowing your city will help us provide relevant content to you.

Sorry! No matching results found. Try again.Error Identifying Your Location.

Log in to CarWale

Please enter your password
Forgot password?
Please enter your registered email

Or Login with

Sign in with facebook
Sign In with google

Sign up to CarWale

Please enter your name
Please enter your mobile number
Please enter your password
Please enter your password

Volkswagen Ameo Cup 2018: Dhruv Mohite wins the championship

October 07, 2018, 08:52 PM IST by Bilal Ahmed Firfiray
Volkswagen Ameo Cup 2018: Dhruv Mohite wins the championship

The Round 4 witnessed lot of action at the BIC and Kolhapur's Dhruv Mohite comfortably took home the winner’s trophy.

Dhruv Behl won race 1 and Jeet Jhabhak won race 2 on Sunday.

Shubhomoy Ball won Ameo Cup 2018 Junior category.

The 2018 season of the Volkswagen Ameo Cup witnessed an exciting finale at the Budh International Circuit after the two action-packed  races of Round 4. In the end, Dhruv Mohite from Kolhapur grabbed the champion's trophy after a comfortable lead owing to his consistent performance in the entire season.

In the first race on Sunday, Pratik Sonawane was on pole after setting a blistering lap time in the Qualifiers. Behind him was Dhruv, who attempting to get ahead in the first lap had an incident with Prathik which pushed him eight position lower down the order. Dhruv Behl, the guest driver from AutoX publication, maintained his position after getting a lead and won the Race One with ease. Joining him on the podium was Pratik and Saurav Bandopadhyay. 

The red flag was due to Arefeen Rafi Ahmed, who in Car no. 18 went on two wheels in the last corner and toppled over before getting stranded in the gravel just ahead of the main straight. The race had to be restarted, but shortly after that, Shubhomoy Ball went off in the third corner which forced the Safety Car to come back on and the rest of the race was held under Safety Car. 

The Race Two was equally action -packed. The grid position in Race Two was reversed with eight drivers of the Race One starting last in the grid. This helped Dhruv Mohite, who started in second position just behind Jeet Jhabakh. On the second lap of the race, Akshay Bhivshet and Tauhid Anwar had a contact going in the first corner thus bringing out the Safety Car. However, unlike the first race, the Safety Car went back in after two laps and the drivers got into their usual bout. On the fifth lap, Affan threw down the gauntlet for the third position. He got past Amol and held his position till the last lap. But Anmol wasn’t ready to give up his position so easily, so he made is move on the last lap to secure his podium. 

Finishing second in Race Two gave a comfortable win to the Kolhapur boy, Dhruv. But there was a close competition for the second position between Saurav and Jeet. But Saurav fought dengue to compete in Round 4 and secure his second position. With Jeet having to settle in third position overall. The Junior star of the Ameo Cup was Shubhomoy Ball who showed terrific dedication throughout the season. 

Tags:Motorsport,Volkswagen,Volkswagen Motorsport,Ameo,Volkswagen Ameo,Ameo Cup
Show CommentsHide Comments

Volkswagen Ameo Price in Popular Cities

CityOn-Road Prices
Hyderabad₹ 6.75 Lakhs onwards
Bangalore₹ 6.87 Lakhs onwards
Chennai₹ 6.73 Lakhs onwards
Mumbai₹ 7.02 Lakhs onwards
New Delhi₹ 6.5 Lakhs onwards
Kolkata₹ 6.54 Lakhs onwards
  • Upcoming Cars

Tata AltrozTata Altroz

Mar 2019

8L - ₹ 10L
BMW i8 RoadsterBMW i8 Roadster

Apr 2019

2.80Cr - ₹ 3Cr
Mahindra e20 NXTMahindra e20 NXT

Jul 2019

6L - ₹ 8L
Mahindra eKUV100Mahindra eKUV100

Dec 2019

8L - ₹ 9L
Jeep RenegadeJeep Renegade

Jan 2020

12L - ₹ 17L
All Upcoming Cars
Ask the experts1800 2090 230Mon-Fri (9 AM - 8 PM)
Sat (9 AM - 5:30 PM)
Sun (9 AM - 7 PM)
Toll free

Select your city to avail offers

Currently available only in