Please Tell Us Your City

Knowing your city will help us provide relevant content to you.

Sorry! No matching results found. Try again.Error Identifying Your Location.

Log in to CarWale

Please enter your password
Forgot password?
Please enter your registered email

Sign up to CarWale

Please enter your name
Please enter your mobile number
Please enter your password
Please enter your password

2012 Formula 1: Sebastian Vettel dominates Indian Grand Prix

Venkat Desirazu, Oct 28 2012.
2656 View(s)
4 comment(s)
2012 Formula 1: Sebastian Vettel dominates Indian Grand Prix

The weekend of speed at the Buddh International circuit came to a close with Sebastian Vettel orchestrating a light to chequered flag victory for Red Bull Racing at 2012 Indian Grand Prix.  He was followed in second place by the Ferrari of Fernando Alonso who drove a splendid race but could not catch the defending world champion. Mark Webber clinched third place in the sister Red Bull but struggled after lap 30 due to the failure of his KERS unit.

The podium finishers were followed by Lewis Hamilton who fought a spirited battle with Mark Webber for third place right up to the chequered flag but could not match the Australian’s pace. Jenson Button followed in fifth in the second McLaren ahead of a resurgent Felipe Massa who took sixth place. He suffered fuel issues and ultimately had to park his Ferrari at the pit entrance after running dry on the cool down lap. Kimi Raikonnen who had started in seventh stayed at the same spot when the flag dropped 60 laps later.

Nico Hulkenberg, another racer going through a phase of resurgence, took eighth place for ‘local’ team Sahara Force India. His team mate Paul di Resta finished in twelfth place. Romain Grosjean and Bruno Senna took ninth and tenth place in final point scoring positions. Home hero Narain Karthikeyan managed to bring his HRT home in 21st place while team mate Pedro De La Rosa spun himself into a tyre wall after brake failure on lap 51.     

Many of the teams before the start of the race expressed concern over excessive tyre wear but this turned out to be no cause for worry as most completed the race on a one-stop strategy. Victims of second Indian Grand Prix included seven-time world champion Micheal Schumacher who suffered puncture after an opening lap scuffle with the Torro Rosso of Jean Eric Vergne. McLaren bound Sergio Perez suffered a similar fate in his Sauber after clashing with the Torro Rosso of Daniel Ricciardo. Perez ultimately retired after damaging his rear suspension. Kamuyi Kobayashi clashed with the Williams of Pastor Maldonado but both men managed to finish the race.  

This is Vettel’s his fourth successive victory of the season and has puts him 13 points ahead of title rival Fernando Alonso (227 points). It is now confirmed that the duo will fight for the championship till the last race as third place Kimi Raikonnen is at a distant third with 173 points.

In the constructors’ championship, Red Bull has further pulled away from the rest of teams with 407 points and will most likely wrap up the title by the next race if they continue at same pace. However, there is a good battle going on for second place between Ferrari and McLaren as they are just 10 points apart (316 and 306 respectively).


Image courtesy: Buddh International Circuit Facebook page

Tags:Fernando Alonso,Sebastian Vettel,Mark Webber,2012 Indian Grand Prix
Show CommentsHide Comments
  • Upcoming Cars

Maruti Suzuki New SwiftMaruti Suzuki New Swift

February 2018

4.50L - ₹ 7.50L
Mercedes-Benz S-Class FaceliftMercedes-Benz S-Class Facelift

January 2018

1.20Cr - ₹ 9.95Cr
Maruti Suzuki Ciaz FaceliftMaruti Suzuki Ciaz Facelift

February 2018

6L - ₹ 10L
Rolls-Royce Phantom VIIIRolls-Royce Phantom VIII

August 2018

7Cr - ₹ 9Cr
Volkswagen Vento FaceliftVolkswagen Vento Facelift

December 2018

8L - ₹ 13L
All Upcoming Cars
Ask the experts1800 2090 230Mon-Fri (8 AM - 8 PM)
Sat (8 AM - 5:30 PM)
Sun (9 AM - 7 PM)
Toll free

Select your city to avail offers

Currently available only in