Please Tell Us Your City

Knowing your city will help us provide relevant content to you.

Sorry! No matching results found. Try again.Error Identifying Your Location.

Log in to CarWale

Please enter your password
Forgot password?
Please enter your registered email

Sign up to CarWale

Please enter your name
Please enter your mobile number
Please enter your password
Please enter your password

Suresh Rana and Parminder Thakur win 2016 Dakshin Dare rally

August 07, 2016, 05:31 PM IST by Omkar Thakur
Suresh Rana and Parminder Thakur win 2016 Dakshin Dare rally

Rally ace Suresh Rana and his navigator Parminder Thakur led the 2016 edition of the 2200km long Dakshin Dare rally from the beginning to emerge as the overall winners. Driving a Maruti Gypsy, reigning champion Sandeep Sharma and co-driver Karan Arya fought hard but had to settle for the second position behind the Grand Vitara. Jasmohan Saini and Vikram Thakur, also piloting a Gypsy claimed the third position. T Nataraj and Febin Jose rode their TVS 450s to the podium followed by Akash Aithal on a Royal Enfield 500.

The Dakshin Dare was flagged off from Bengaluru and moved towards Coorg. After three legs in Coorg, the rally headed towards Shivamogga about 320kms away. Two days of racing were planned across almost 400kms near Shivamogga which saw Suresh Rana maintaining his lead and Sandeep Sharma moving to second and trying to catch up with the race leader. TVS had a field day all along the rally with T Nataraj and Febin Jose going strong from the beginning. Akash Aithal, riding a Royal Enfield 500, rode incredibly well with his eyes set on the podium.

The rally went further from Shivamogga to Goa and despite the challenging stages, the standings remained unchanged. Ganesh Moorthy  and T Nagarajan won the Endurance category followed by Raghu Nandan and M Prakash in second and Karthick Maruthi and Sankar Anand in third.

Tags:Dakshin Dare 2016
Show CommentsHide Comments
  • Upcoming Cars

Mercedes-Benz V-ClassMercedes-Benz V-Class

24th Jan 2019

75L - ₹ 85L
Mahindra XUV300Mahindra XUV300

14th Feb 2019

8L - ₹ 12L
Audi New Q3Audi New Q3

Feb 2019

33L - ₹ 44L
Audi New A8 LAudi New A8 L

Feb 2019

1.20Cr - ₹ 1.50Cr
Tata 45XTata 45X

Mar 2019

8L - ₹ 10L
All Upcoming Cars
Ask the experts1800 2090 230Mon-Fri (9 AM - 8 PM)
Sat (9 AM - 5:30 PM)
Sun (9 AM - 7 PM)
Toll free

Select your city to avail offers

Currently available only in