Please Tell Us Your City

Knowing your city will help us provide relevant content to you.

Sorry! No matching results found. Try again.Error Identifying Your Location.

Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm: Day One and Day Two update

March 21, 2018, 01:12 AM IST by Nikhil Puthran
Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm: Day One and Day Two update

Heat, dry and dust are just a part of the Desert Rallies. Watching these drivers and riders zoom past leaving a dust trail behind them in desert of Bikaner makes you realise on the amount of effort and practice put in by the participants to just survive on this tricky terrain.  The day one race which started past 2.30 PM continued till about 10.00 in the night (Yes, it meant driving in pitch darkness).

By the end the day, the results for the first day covering a distance of about 40kms were announced. Until now, in the Xtreme category Suresh Rana, a popular name in motorsport in the country had been leading the race with a time of 1:28:01. Close on heals, there was Aabhishek Mishra who competed strong against the reigning champion with a time of 1:28:34. The third position on day one in same category was held by Gaurav Chiripal who has managed to complete the first leg with a timing of 1:30:32.

In the Xplore category based on the time speed distance format in nine sections and distance of 106ms, Nipun Agrawal had been leading first leg with a minimal penalty time of 00:09:07. Vishal Choudhary claimed the second position with a penalty time of 01:13:12. The third position on day one in this category was held by Surendra Gopu with a penalty time of 01:30:04.

In the Ndure category based on the time speed distance format in five sections and distance of 74ms, Lt Col Sukhjeet Singh claimed the first position with a penalty time of 00:21:00. Following close, Gurpinder Singh with a penalty time of 00:21:55 claimed the second position. Ruchit Jadhaw earned the third place with a penalty time of 00:22:34.  

In the Moto category where riders were expected to cover a distance of about 40kms, we had C.S. Santosh leading the race with a time of 01:10:44. The second position was earned by Aaron Mare with a total time of 01:16:31. The third positioned has been claimed by Sanjay Kumar with a time of 01:19:39.            

Day 2

Making things interest in the second leg of the Desert Storm, Aabhishek Mishra who missed the top spot by mere 33 seconds has earned the first place in leg two with total time of 03:44:07. Suresh Rana who had been leading in the first leg, now comes a close second with a time of 03:44:45. Stealing the third position from Gaurav Chiripal, Raj Singh Rathore has now emerged third with total time of 03:53:11.

In the Leg two Moto category, C.S. Santosh continues to impress and holds the leading position with a total time of 03:03:06. While the second and third position continues to be held by Aaron Mare and Sanjay Kumar with total time of 13:05:20 and 03:21:27 respectively.

  • FaceBook Logo
  • Twitter Logo
  • Email Logo
Show CommentsHide Comments
  • Upcoming Cars

Audi New A6Audi New A6

24th Oct 2019

50L - ₹ 60L
Tata Tiago FaceliftTata Tiago Facelift

Oct 2019

4L - ₹ 7L
Nissan Leaf EVNissan Leaf EV

Oct 2019

30L - ₹ 35L
Mahindra e20 NXTMahindra e20 NXT

Oct 2019

6L - ₹ 8L
Honda HR-VHonda HR-V

Oct 2019

12L - ₹ 16L
All Upcoming Cars
Ask the experts1800 2090 230Mon-Fri (9 AM - 8 PM)
Sat (9 AM - 5:30 PM)
Sun (9 AM - 7 PM)
Toll free

Select your city to avail offers

Currently available only in