CarWale
    AD

    Honda City [2014-2017] User Reviews

    Looking for Honda City [2014-2017]? Here are the reviews and ratings by City [2014-2017] owners from across the country.

    City [2014-2017] Image

    3.9/5

    233 Ratings

    5 star

    39%

    4 star

    32%

    3 star

    13%

    2 star

    10%

    1 star

    6%

    Variant
    All Versions
    Rs. 7,79,364
    Last recorded price

    Categories (out of 5)

    • 4.3Exterior
    • 4.3Comfort
    • 4.0Performance
    • 4.0Fuel Economy
    • 3.9Value for Money

    All Honda City [2014-2017] Reviews

     (211)
    • All
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Sort by :
    • All
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    Sort by :
    • 10 years ago | Nitin Goel

      EI purchased new Honda City i-DTECH in January 2014. I was driving my car suddunly rain started my car passed through very shalow water air suction pipe sucked water because very low heigt and my car was hydrostatic locked and there is a white smoke coming out. And different service centres are giving me different estimates for my car, One of them is asking for Rs. 2.5 Lakh that too minimum (according to Ring Road Peera garhi)). You won't believe, they have same problem in Honda Amaze i.e. "air intake mouth for air filter is placed way below in Honda Amaze and its specific to Honda Amaze. In Brio and other models it is in its usual place. Due to this change in design, water gets into the engine of honda amaze very easily even during normal rains." (http://www.carwale.com/honda-cars/amaze/userreviews/34554.html).

      Not only this one of representative said don't drive in rainy season. Then what is the use of buying this car. I just wanted to ask one simple question. If I am with my family and 200 km away from my home, suddenly rain starts what should I do. Do I need to park the car there and wait until rain stops? Also It can happen again to my car, in that scenario should I pay again. And there is one more great news it doesn't come under warranty and no support from Insurance company. Please guys I need your support and fix it as soon as possible. My communication ID 1-1846270512 and my car is with Ring Road Gurgaon.

      LooksEngine
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      3

      Exterior/Styles


      3

      Comfort & Space


      2

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      2

      Fuel Economy


      1

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase New
      Driven forFew thousand kilometers
      Mileage14 kmpl
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      102
      DisLike Button
      2
    • 9 years ago | Varun

      I AM SHARING MY LETTER TO HONDA WITH ALL USERS HERE:

      After writing you many times but you showed your helplessness to rectify toxic smell from my new Car and at last I took delivery from your workshop. Meanwhile I contacted many persons, who bought the same model of your car recently I was shocked to know that many of the people are facing the same problem.

      Everyone I met said they are very much disturbed with the dead rat smell from the car. Then I happen to meet some car experts and discussed the problem with them. I came to know that the material used in the interiors are sub standard and The "new car smell" is actually the smell of toxic chemicals off-gassing from interior auto parts such as the seating, dashboards and vehicle trim.  Many synthetic materials and plastics are produced with chemical additives that are used to change the engineering. performance of the plastics, thus these plastics may contain plasticizers, stabilizers, flame retardants, aintimicorbials and antioxidants. Due to these additives, many pollutants, including benzene, toluene and xylene, were found in levels exceeding indoor.

      Now we have formed a group who are sufferer and together we are going to protest for this problem by getting your Car tested for such hazardous chemicals used in car interiors and make other people know how you are playing with the health of consumers.

      Mean while please let me know your norms and standard for material used in interiors so that we can get it tested accordingly. Also please give me contact details of the directors with whom we can take the matter.

      nonevery poor after sales
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      5

      Exterior/Styles


      5

      Comfort & Space


      3

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      3

      Fuel Economy


      1

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase New
      Driven forFew thousand kilometers
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      62
      DisLike Button
      2
    • 9 years ago | AMIT VASHISTH

      I wish to share the incident I face with my new car (HONDA CITY) which I brought up in February 2015   (Chassis no- MAKGM85AXXXXXXX, Engine No. N15A12XXXXX).

      On 29th July 2015 while driving my car, Sun Roof glass exploded all of a sudden in the middle of road with gunshot noise. Thankfully because of a highway, there wasn't any other vehicle nearby. Else I might have met with a serious road accident. I was fortunate that the inner shutter was closed else it could have resulted in big accident. I thoroughly checked for any possibility of hitting of any objects but couldn’t find any such thing. I immediately took my car to local dealer in Sonipat (Haryana-India). who in turn sent the pictures for further evaluation to Honda. They also told me that there is no sign any object hit event.

      I also called up Honda121customer care for the same with Communication ID number 1-3110288512.

      Later I was informed by dealer that Honda refuse to accept any manufacture defect and the part replacement will not be done under Warranty, although its brand new car.

      After many follow-ups with customer care in India there is no fruitful outcomes, with no way for me to go I apply for Insurance claim on April 4th, 2015 with a pain in my heart as this thing should have been taken care under warranty by Honda. Still there is no fruitful follow-up from Honda. there were no spare with Honda.

      I was using Hyundai Verna earlier and changed to Honda in a good hope of Quality good services but this is what I am facing now.

      Even write to Honda Japan, Customer care is not ready to accept the flaw with the glass. It’s a serious compliance issue which needs to be taken care by Quality check team from Honda.

      I can be reached at XXXXXXXXXX

      DesignServices by Honda
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      4

      Exterior/Styles


      4

      Comfort & Space


      3

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      4

      Fuel Economy


      3

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase New
      Driven forFew thousand kilometers
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      37
      DisLike Button
      0
    • 8 years ago | Prof. H Kumar

      Please excuse me for perturbing you to have written this message but I am crying to narrate my extreme grievances to Honda official as several mails and calls of mine have been thrown into oblivion by your Indian Counterpart. I am uptight and lugubrious to apprise you the following and strongly believe in your asymptotic ideas to ascertain the grievances. I appeal before you to spare few minutes off your busy schedule to have a bird's eye view.

      1.       I booked a Honda city car at Delight Honda Delhi on 06/09/2015. On 12/09/2015, I was informed by one of my grieving friend (a customer of delight Honda) to stay away from this dealer by dint of his involvement in malpractices. The dealer has two showrooms at Faridabad and Delhi. The car is used as demo and test drive vehicle at Faridabad and sold at Delhi and vice versa. Hence, I mailed Delight Honda to cancel the booking, but the dealer feigned that the car had already reached so the cancellation was not possible.

       

      2.       On 17/09/2015, I was invited for the delivery of the car and I along with my wife reached the showroom. At around 4:30 pm the delivery ceremony was performed and the car was delivered in dirty condition (smeared dashboard and muddy floor), albeit I had requested the dealer to provide me chance to inspect the vehicle before delivery but all in vain.

       

      3.       I had seen the same car at their Faridabad showroom being used as test drive vehicle. I got the car with 56 km initial odometer reading. This means the car was used as test drive vehicle between 11/09/2015 (the day it reached delight Honda Faridabad) and 17/09/2015 (the day it was delivered to me). I had to accept the delivery because 17/09/2015 was an auspicious day (Ganesh Chaturthi)  and moreover entire money (Rs. 11.80 lacs) had reached the dealer.

       

      4.       While driving the car at night near my residence, it's headlights went off all of a sudden and then glowed intermittently. The clutch, break and accelerator pedals emanated crackling noise while depressing. This proves that the car was roughly used prior to the delivery.

       

      5.       On reporting the same to the dealer, the customer care manager Ms. Ranjeeta tried her level best to sarcastically prove me wrong which left me forlorn and insulted. I had to place the matter before the customer care (complaint no. 1-3310253049). Subsequently, I sent four mails and called eleven times at the customer care without response.

       

      6.       On my pursuing the matter through phone,  I was informed by the customer care executive on 22/09/2015 that some Mr Gaurav Sharma of Honda India would visit the CHEAT DEALER DELIGHT HONDA on 23/09/2015 from 10000 hrs to 1600 hrs. to inspect my car and the complaint. I took leave from the university today and reached the dealer showroom at 1030 hrs along with my wife and inquired from the receptionist about Mr. Gaurav Sharma, but he was not there. In fact the receptionist told me that they had no information about his visit. I was asked to meet Mr. K P Singh of Honda India instead.  Mr. K P Sing exhibited his inability to intervene in this matter because according to him he was in - charge of the service department and not of the sales department, and my case was primarily related to sales.  It is the height of unprofessionalism and boorishness on part of Mr. Gaurav Sharma. Moreover, just ponder about his discourteousness and abjectness: if he didn't wish to visit Delight Honda by dint of some reasons he must have arranged to inform me, but he did not care to do that with the result that I and my wife had to wait there for three hours and I had to waste a leave from my work place. This shows the arrogance and dictatorial attitude of the representatives of the despicable Honda India as if the customers are beggars and exist on their mercy.

       

      I request you to intervene into the matter so that I may not be put into further hardship.

       

       

       

       

      mileage and spaceFriction in break and accelerator pedals,
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      3

      Exterior/Styles


      4

      Comfort & Space


      2

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      3

      Fuel Economy


      1

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase New
      Driven forFew hundred kilometers
      Mileage15 kmpl
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      36
      DisLike Button
      1
    • 10 years ago | Captain S K Sharma 9819289389

       

      Exterior

      Exterior is OK as compared to other make of similar vehicles not very attractive

      Interior (Features, Space & Comfort)

       Features are OK, Space is reasonable not very comfortable as compared to petrol version. The smoothness of a new machine is missing

      Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox

       Engine noise can be distinctly heard performance is fine. gear shift not very smooth

      Ride Quality & Handling

      I purchased CNG version of Honda City. It gives Loud thud sound from the rear  while crossing a speed breaker or on rough roads and the fuel gauge is faulty. It appears Honda has not done its home work on CNG version.

      Final Words

       All are requested to take a free test drive of my car before making a buy decision.   Captain S K Sharma. 9819289389

      Areas of improvement  

      Honda must stop selling faulty vehicles. Repair/replace faulty vehicles. After sales of Honda and Apex Honda Mumbai – Least said the Better. They are just not bothered

      I wish Honda stops riding the past glory and take care of its customers.

      Reputed name to attract buyersFaulty vehicle. Disgusting after sales.
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      2

      Exterior/Styles


      1

      Comfort & Space


      1

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      2

      Fuel Economy


      1

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase New
      Driven forHaven't driven it
      Mileage11 kmpl
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      32
      DisLike Button
      7
    • 10 years ago | Anurag

      Exterior Very Stylish and Eye Candy, Easily Grabs one attention at 1st look. Supported with Fingerprint sensor make it coolest car.

      Interior (Features, Space & Comfort) Great Comfort at rear seat with good fabrics, all meters are surrounded by blue light which looks sporty and rocking. Dashboard is good with Start/Stop button  and Coloured Display in top model.

      Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox Smooth Gear Shifting, Honda has done work on Honda City, though engine make sound from outside or when the doors is open but Very less noise or no noise as compared to Honda Amaze.

      Ride Quality & Handling Good.

      Final Words Value for money car with Great looks. Appreciable Rear Parking Sensors. Excellent sunroof. Nice aerodynamic shape, very sport look. Sporty and rocking Dashboard. Doors Equipped with fingerprint Scanner.

      Areas of improvement Hood of car is too high which makes driver and co driver visibilty to make more effort to see on road. More Ground clearence should be there with 15" tyres.

      Great Style, Comfort interiour, rocking Dashboard, Good fuel economy.High hood, low road visibility, Not for long hieght person at front.
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      5

      Exterior/Styles


      4

      Comfort & Space


      4

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      4

      Fuel Economy


      5

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase Not Purchased
      Driven forHaven't driven it
      Mileage18 kmpl
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      26
      DisLike Button
      4
    • 9 years ago | Rajnish Aggarwal

      Five letdowns in my Honda City:

      1. No remote Handset for audio System – You cannot control your audio system if you are driven by a chauffeur. Interestingly this was a part of Honda city earlier, but thanks to penury cost cutting the customers will have to live with this big handicap

      2. Inadequate audio controls on the steering – No mute button on the steering, no button to switch on / off your stereo from the steering. The Bluetooth operating buttons on the steering are also not well placed and one touch last number redial is missing. Other competitors like Hyundai Verna score much better here.

      3. Only one electronic key with the car – Honda City comes with one electronic and one mechanical key. The cheapest of the cars in the market (which come with central locking) would be put to shame by this level of cost cutting by Honda. The replacement of this lone key costs a bomb.

      4. Poor cabin lighting –No map light above driver’s head (SV Variant). In other variants the middle cabin light is taken away in lieu of the map light still leaving the cabin poorly lit.

      5. Mindless Designing – The Bluetooth mic of the SV variant is installed on the stereo panel (below the aircon vent) instead of the standard mounting on the roof above the drivers head (it is installed correctly in V / VX variants). This results in very poor mic performance and the person on the other end of the phone can never hear the driver clearly. A live demonstration was conducted in presence of Honda officials and the sound quality picked up by the mic of SV variant was extremely poor as compared to other variants (V/VX) of Honda City. After the matter was escalated to the President Honda India Mr. Kanayama, Honda customer care head Mr Rajneesh Raheja asked for two weeks to find a solution from the vendor’s end. However later I was shamelessly advised to choose from three options a) to move my mouth nearer to the mic while driving b) to reduce my aircon fan speed c) to buy an external Bluetooth mic from the market. There are other customer complaints regarding this which were also shared with Honda India. If any other Honda City (SV variant) customer wants to join the group of dissatisfied customers who wish to join the group in this struggle please contact on XXXXXXXX.

      Noneaudio- no remote & poor steering controls, poor cabin light, only 1 remote key, wrong mic placement
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      2

      Exterior/Styles


      2

      Comfort & Space


      2

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      2

      Fuel Economy


      1

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase New
      Driven forFew thousand kilometers
      Mileage10 kmpl
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      17
      DisLike Button
      1
    • 9 years ago | Pradeep.

      I have purchased Honda City VMT Model on 25/09/2014. From day one I felt the driver seat to be very uncomfortable. It is causing Neck & Shoulder pain as the angle of the seat is tilted & it does not give proper support to upper back & it causes strain in Neck & Upper Back Muscles.

      I had spoken to the dealer many times & explained to them in detail about the problem. According to them nothing can be done as it is company's design & I checked up other Cars also at the showroom & all had similar seats. I tried Mobilio & found its driving seat very comfortable.

      I want to state that I love driving & in past driven continuously for 15 hours in a day with my last vehicle which was Maruti Dzire.

      I dont know what to do now. If this is global design then I dont know what Honda has considered while designing the Seat.

      Gud Design, Noiseless Vehicle.Very Bad Driver Seat - Uncomfortable
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      4

      Exterior/Styles


      2

      Comfort & Space


      4

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      4

      Fuel Economy


      4

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase New
      Driven forFew hundred kilometers
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      14
      DisLike Button
      1
    • 10 years ago | Nisarg

      The car is good in look-and-feel, however there is a serious disregard to the customer safety, and in my experience Honda's post buy customer service is poor at best.

      My Honda City is just 6 months old, and has been driven 3800 kms so far. I have just had 2 long (> 100 kms) trips with it. During my second trip, one of the tyres was burst while I was actually driving the car at 80 kmph (luckily we were unscathed), and I also saw that the other tyre in the front had a huge bulge developed in it. 

      Upon following up with Honda about the issue, we were left with dealing with Goodyear directly. Only when a Goodyear engineer comes to the showroom (once a month), I had to bring my car there. Goodyear flatly denied having any manufacturing defects with the tyre. According to them, this has happened due to bad road condition (I was driving from Ahmedabad to Udaipur, the roads are really nice, actually), and it must have hit a huge hole.

      The entire experience is harrowing, and there was no concern shown by Honda and GoodYear. Upon third party reviews, I found that the Goodyear tyres that come with Honda are of the most inferior quality. So, basically, in order to get better looks and getting a cheaper model out of the door, Honda is playing with customer safety!!

      My finish line is : Buy only if you don't care about your life, and if you want to buy it neverthless -- for God's sake, spend extra 25000 more and get better tyres before you drive it out of the showroom! 

       

      exterior, interiorTyres of dangerous quality, horrible post-purchasse service
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      3

      Exterior/Styles


      5

      Comfort & Space


      1

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      2

      Fuel Economy


      1

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase New
      Driven forFew thousand kilometers
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      13
      DisLike Button
      0
    • 10 years ago | Rajkundra

      Exterior Superb, Stylish, Well designed. When you see it first itself it will impress you because of the sportive look with side liners.

      Interior (Features, Space & Comfort) Comfort to sit on back, OK with front. Great cabin space, well enough boot space. Without trouble 6ft can sit in front or back row. More than its competitor giving.

      Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox No need to tell about engine. Amaze engine 18 to 20km

      Ride Quality & Handling Very much comfartable to ride in city as well as highways. Nice to drive in low as well as high speeds (not crossed 100. But till 100 it was comfort)

      Final Words Go for it. I did not find any major reason to reject or object this car.. Everything looks okay and has better quality than other cars in the market of similar range. Most importantly the service of Honda is much reliable. Its bit expensive but reliable. If you have accessible service centers then should not worry about service. I met many HONDA car owners  who came to book their second car from HONDA.

       

      Areas of improvement Need to improve interiors

      Good fuel economy good stypeHmmm
      Rating parameters(out of 5)
      3

      Exterior/Styles


      3

      Comfort & Space


      3

      Performance (Engine/Gear/Overall)


      3

      Fuel Economy


      3

      Value for Money/Features

      About the Reviewer
      Purchase New
      Driven forFew hundred kilometers
      Mileage18 kmpl
      Was this review helpful?
      Like Button
      14
      DisLike Button
      2

    Reviews you may also consider

    AD
    Write Review
    Write a detailed review of a car and you can
    scissors image
    Win Amazon Voucher worth
     ₹
    2000

    Want to read the reviews for any other car?