Please Tell Us Your City

Knowing your city will help us provide relevant content to you.

Sorry! No matching results found. Try again.Error Identifying Your Location.
  • News 0
  • Reviews0
  • Special Reports 0
  • Images0
  • Videos0

Ad

Expert Reviews

Filter By:
  • Comparison Tests

    2018 CarWale Track Day: Volkswagen Polo GT TSI vs Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS

    9 months ago by 

    We do have two warriors here and both clad in red suits, wanting to take the crown of the hottest hatchback. 

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS Long Term Report 3

    1 year ago by 

    I’m a little late in keeping my promise of bringing to you a detailed highway run report of the Baleno RS. And there is a good reason for that. Good for my colleagues, that is, who have been using it more often than me. It was used on car shoots, a studio shoot and even our video review. The Baleno RS has been the most-preferred long-termer our team has had this month. It has done the Mumbai-Pune Expressway innumerable times and here’s how it coped up.

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS Long Term Report 2

    1 year ago by 

    Our long-termer Baleno RS has been in the hands of many of my colleagues this month. Not one of them wanted to return the car, for reasons which I will dwell upon later. But thankfully, I finally got to use the car within the city, and got a better feel of this latest offering from Maruti. And as promised, here we are, with the car's city driving report.

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS Long Term Report 1

    1 year ago by 

    A few years ago, spotting a ‘hot hatchback’ on the road was a once-in-a-blue-moon occurrence. In fact, back then, even thinking of a hot hatch from Maruti Suzuki seemed like a wild dream. Especially when the Indian market was only offered a Swift RS which turned out to be merely cosmetic changes. Enter 2017 and our CarWale's long term fleet sees the entry of the Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS!

  • Comparison Tests

    Ford Figo 1.5 TDCi Sports Edition vs Maruti Baleno RS

    1 year ago by 

    What brings the Figo and Baleno together, are the letters that follow their names. The RS badge on the Maruti and the Sports Edition in case of the Ford are indications of a spicier versions of the normal family hatchbacks, meant to be more fun and something enthusiasts can look forward to. So which one of these sporty hatches will come out on top?

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS Road Test

    1 year ago by 

    The Baleno RS has arrived as a landmark offering for Maruti Suzuki since it is also a debut of the brand’s first turbocharged petrol motor – a 1-litre, three cylinder unit which shows a lot of promise. For a brand so deeply rooted in diesel power and efficiency, this is a big deal. However, some would say Maruti is simply playing catch-up to the Germans and the Italians (Read: VW Polo GT TSI and Fiat Punto Abarth) in the still-nascent field of affordable hot hatchbacks.

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno RS First Drive Review

    1 year ago by 

    For starters, Maruti has positioned the Baleno RS rather cleverly in a segment which is gaining traction slowly and steadily. So while it doesn’t have the clever drivetrain of the GT TSI or the unmistakable flair of the Punto Abarth, the Baleno RS costs noticeably less than either 

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno 1.2 Alpha Long Term Wrap up

    2 years ago by 

    After three months and nearly 4,500km, it is time to return the Maruti Suzuki Baleno to its maker. And, it has been an interesting run. I still haven’t warmed up to the car’s exterior styling, but its interiors continue to impress. Spacious, well put together, and in this Alpha trim, there are a good array of bells and whistles to keep your mood buoyant. I like the seats too – front and back. The cushioning has proved to be comfortable and supportive even on long drives. And, thanks to the car’s interior width, I never heard the rear passengers complain about the car being cramped in any way.

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno Alpha 1.2 Long Term Review 3

    2 years ago by 

    We have told you how the Maruti Suzuki Baleno is to live with in the city; it’s efficient, it has smart storage spaces, it’s well equipped, and it has comfy seats and spacious insides. It is also easy to drive, the 1.2-litre petrol engine doesn’t feel anemic, and apart from the stiff ride, there’s very little not to like about it. 

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno Alpha 1.2 Long Term Review 2

    2 years ago by 

    This month the Maruti Suzuki Baleno has lived solely in the city. And I have discovered some great, some good and some not so nice bits about the car.

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno Alpha 1.2 Long Term Report 1

    2 years ago by 

    The Maruti Suzuki Baleno has done two important things for its maker. First, it has proved, yet again, that when it comes to selling hatchbacks, Maruti really has got its MO completely sorted. And second, going the Nexa way has finally attached a sense of premiumness to Maruti products, which has been missing…forever. Sure, the S-Cross didn’t do too well via the Nexa endeavour, but it was a case of poor pricing more than anything else.

  • Comparison Tests

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno DDiS vs Honda Jazz i-Dtec vs Hyundai i20 CRDI

    3 years ago by 

    What we have here are three diesel-powered, nearly fully loaded, large hatchbacks. Hatchbacks that cost more than their respective compact sedan siblings but are still proving to be popular. Clearly then, if you are looking at a premium hatchback – like the three cars in question here – you are a sensible, discerning and informed buyer.  So, let’s get straight to the point.

    The Hyundai Elite i20 is the oldest of the lot if we were to go by launch dates. But, the i20 is a benchmark car in many ways; take styling, interior design, quality and especially the extensive list of bells and whistles, and it is no surprise that the Hyundai not only sells well, it tops the critics’ premium hatchback list as well. This one would be a tough one to dethrone for sure.

    Then you have the Honda Jazz. The new Jazz isn’t just better priced, better positioned and better specced than the older car, it also has a potent (though noisy) diesel engine now. It comes into this test armed with practicality, efficiency and an easy-to-drive nature, which the competition will find hard to match.

    Finally, there’s the Maruti Suzuki Baleno. The newest car here, the Baleno not only brings back a famed name, it also manages to tick many of the expectation boxes. It’s a Maruti, so rightfully it’s also light, well priced, and is of good value. Now, only if it is anything like the Swift, it should also be good fun to drive; the pedestrian 75bhp power output notwithstanding. The Baleno also marks a huge step up for Maruti in terms of interior room. This one might have the Jazz running for cover in terms of good space utilisation.

    It’s time then to dig deeper…

  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno Road Test

    3 years ago by 

    If a car is priced under Rs 10 lakh and wears a Maruti Suzuki badge it is destined to be successful. But the Baleno is very important to Maruti for very different reasons. It is their first foray into the premium hatchback segment which is dominated by Hyundai’s classy i20. The Baleno is also the second model to be sold out of the more premium Nexa group of dealerships. After Nexa took a big hit with the unenthusiastic response for the overpriced S-Cross, the pressure is on Baleno’s small car shoulders to justify Maruti’s premium marketing tactics.

     
  • Road Test

    Maruti Suzuki Baleno First Drive Review

    3 years ago by 

    A new premium hatchback from Maruti Suzuki called the Baleno. Now the name invariably reminds us of the old sedan, which was Maruti’s first attempt at entering the premium car market in India. They failed but since then, a lot of things have changed. The Indian car market has matured to an extent, the share of expensive cars has gone up and Maruti Suzuki sales have almost doubled. What hasn’t changed though is the company’s struggle to establish itself as a premium brand.

  • Road Test

    First Look: New Suzuki Baleno

    3 years ago by 

    Last week, Suzuki unveiled its showstopper for the forthcoming Frankfurt Motor Show. Previously seen as the concept iK- 2, in Geneva, earlier this year, this new model will wear the Baleno nametag when it arrives in Frankfurt as a fully-specced production model. 

Log in to CarWale

Please enter your password
Please enter your registered email

Sign up to CarWale

Please enter your name
+91
Please enter your mobile number
Please enter your password
Please enter your password
Ask the experts1800 2090 230Mon-Fri (9 AM - 8 PM)
Sat (9 AM - 5:30 PM)
Sun (9 AM - 7 PM)
Toll free

Select your city to avail offers

Currently available only in