Please Tell Us Your City

Knowing your city will help us provide relevant content to you.

Sorry! No matching results found. Try again.Error Identifying Your Location.

Log in to CarWale

Please enter your password
Forgot password?
Please enter your registered email

Or Login with

Sign In with google

Sign up to CarWale

Please enter your name
Please enter your mobile number
Please enter your password
Please enter your password

Desert Storm 2019: Defending champ Aabhishek Mishra wins his fourth title

May 12, 2019, 02:23 PM IST by Bilal Ahmed Firfiray
Desert Storm 2019: Defending champ Aabhishek Mishra wins his fourth title

Defending champion Aabhishek Mishra dominated each leg of the gruelling Desert Storm 2019 to claim the coveted title for the fourth time. The 30-year-old from Jaipur is now the third driver to defend the Desert Storm title, after Sunny Sidhu and Suresh Rana. Driving for Team Sparky's Garage, Aabishek with co-driver Srikanth Gowda, finished in a time of 9 hours 21 minutes and 45 seconds. 

Chandigarh's Samrat Yadav and co-driver Kunal Kashyap finished second. Behind the wheel of a Toyota Fortuner, Samrat showed remarkable poise and consistency over the scorching four days and finished with a time of 9:41:34. Rounding off the podium was Arunachal Pradesh’s Lakhpa Tsering (co-driver V Venu Rameshkumar) driving his Polaris RZR 1000. The Army Team, returning to competitive rally after a long hiatus, saw Capt AVS Gill (co-driver Diwakar Kalia) claim the fourth place in the Extreme Category. Meanwhile Aman Katoch (Siddhartha Nandal), Parth Bharadwaj (Mohit Bisht) and Sanjay Jadon (Sahil Dua) took the third, fourth and fifth places in the Endure Category, respectively.

Team Mahindra Adventure’s Gaurav Gill dropped to the eighth position after his XUV500’s all-wheel-drive system failed on second last leg of the competition. The WRC ace and APRC winner made a comeback finishing the SS9 and SS10 in the least amount of time. But after losing more than an hour in the previous stage, Gill finished with an overall time of 10:37:45. 

Among the other key awards, the Team Trophy (Xtreme Category) was won by Team Army Adventure Wing, Team Trophy (Moto) was given to TVS Racing, Team Trophy (Ndure) was bagged by Team Army Adventure Wing. The Coupe des Dames (Best Female Contender) Awards were claimed by Khyati Mody in the Xtreme category, Aishwarya Pissay in the Moto category and to Capt. Abhilasha Singh in the Ndure category.  

“This is an incredibly special win for us,” said Aabhishek Mishra, who drove his Maruti Vitara through the treacherous 2500km haul. “I have won the title in the four-wheel category four times and once in the motorbike category. But this year was the toughest due to the conditions and also because of the competition, which attracted all the top drivers, teams and manufacturers in the country,” he added.

Tags:Mahindra,Maruti Suzuki,Desert Storm,XUV500,Mahindra XUV500,Desert Storm 2019,Grand Vitara [2009-2015],Maruti Suzuki Grand Vitara [2009-2015],Aabhishek Mishra
Show CommentsHide Comments

Mahindra XUV500 Price in India

CityOn-Road Prices
Hyderabad₹ 15.05 Lakhs onwards
Mumbai₹ 14.89 Lakhs onwards
Bangalore₹ 15.66 Lakhs onwards
Chennai₹ 15.24 Lakhs onwards
New Delhi₹ 14.85 Lakhs onwards
Kolkata₹ 13.96 Lakhs onwards
  • Upcoming Cars

Hyundai Kona EVHyundai Kona EV

9th Jul 2019

25L - ₹ 30L
MG HectorMG Hector

Jun 2019

18L - ₹ 23L
Volkswagen Next Generation VentoVolkswagen Next Generation Vento

Jul 2019

8L - ₹ 14L
BMW New 3 SeriesBMW New 3 Series

Jul 2019

50L - ₹ 60L
Renault TriberRenault Triber

Jul 2019

5L - ₹ 7L
All Upcoming Cars

MG Hector

India’s First Internet Car

MG HectorBooking Open

Select your city to avail offers

Currently available only in