Please Tell Us Your City

Knowing your city will help us provide relevant content to you.

Sorry! No matching results found. Try again.Error Identifying Your Location.

Log in to CarWale

Please enter your password
Forgot password?
Please enter your registered email

Or Login with

Sign In with google

Sign up to CarWale

Please enter your name
Please enter your mobile number
Please enter your password
Please enter your password

Dean Mascarenhas wins the South India Rally of 2019 INRC

July 01, 2019, 10:39 PM IST by Bilal Ahmed Firfiray
Dean Mascarenhas wins the South India Rally of 2019 INRC

-    The 2019 Indian National Rally Championship kicked off with South India Rally in Chennai.

-    Dean Mascarenhas won Round 1 INRC Overall bagging an early lead. 

Dean Mascarenhas won the South India Rally last weekend beating the late resurgence from ARRC champion Gaurav Gill. Kicking off the 2019 season of the Champions Yacht Club-FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship, the Team Champion’s driver finished on top in INRC overall with a time of 1:45.10.800 hour ahead of Fabid Ahmer (1:45:24.400 hour) and Gaurav Gill (1:45:27.800 hour). 

Going into the third and final leg with a 10-second overall lead and 1.41 minutes clear of Gill, Mascarenhas and his co-driver Shruptha Padival expected an easy win. But an errant car and Gill’s aggressive driving saw his lead being steadily wiped out from both ends, raising the spectre of a sensational last-minute upset. However, Team Mahindra's Gill with his co-driver Musa Sherif – who finished second in the day’s first stage and won all remaining four – suffered a massive blow in the penultimate stage behind the wheels of their rally-prepped Super XUV300. A herd of cows blocked Gill’s path, costing him around 7 to 10 seconds.

He was awarded 10 seconds by the Stewards for the unfortunate delay, thereby, putting him in the third position in the overall category. Gill’s performance was sufficient to win him the INRC category too but not good enough to dislodge Mascarenhas or Fabid Ahmer. On the other hand, Rahul Kanthraj and co-driver Vivek Bhatt missed the podium in the overall category by a mere one second.

Dean and Fabid Ahmer made it a sensational 1-2 for the Shubhakar Rao-owned team, with Dean also taking the INRC 2 and Fabid the INRC 3. Vaibhav Marate bagged the INRC 4.

Delighted with his breakthrough victory, Dean Mascarenhas, said, “My car had lost one of the four cylinders on Saturday itself and it kept stalling, adding to the pressure. I, however, held my nerves and came through, making this one of my sweetest wins”. 

Gill, on his third-place finish, said “We worked very hard to make up for the lacklustre first two days. We changed the tyres and the setup at every opportunity and it paid dividends until bad luck hit us”.

Tags:Volkswagen,Mahindra,Ameo,Volkswagen Ameo,Mahindra XUV300,XUV300,South India Rally,2019 INRC,INRC,2019 Indian National Rally Championship
  • FaceBook Logo
  • Twitter Logo
  • Email Logo
Show CommentsHide Comments

Mahindra XUV300 Price in India

CityOn-Road Prices
Mumbai₹ 9.43 Lakhs onwards
New Delhi₹ 9.17 Lakhs onwards
Kolkata₹ 8.96 Lakhs onwards
Hyderabad₹ 9.63 Lakhs onwards
Bangalore₹ 9.85 Lakhs onwards
Chennai₹ 9.29 Lakhs onwards
  • Upcoming Cars

Hyundai Grand i10 NIOSHyundai Grand i10 NIOS

20th Aug 2019

6L - ₹ 8L
Maruti Suzuki XL6Maruti Suzuki XL6

21st Aug 2019

8L - ₹ 12L
BMW New 3 SeriesBMW New 3 Series

21st Aug 2019

50L - ₹ 60L
Kia SeltosKia Seltos

22nd Aug 2019

11L - ₹ 17L
Renault TriberRenault Triber

28th Aug 2019

5L - ₹ 7L
All Upcoming Cars

Renault TRIBER

Space For Everything

Renault TriberBookings Open

Select your city to avail offers

Currently available only in