Please Tell Us Your City

Knowing your city will help us provide relevant content to you.

Sorry! No matching results found. Try again.Error Identifying Your Location.

Log in to CarWale

Please enter your password
Forgot password?
Please enter your registered email

Sign up to CarWale

Please enter your name
Please enter your mobile number
Please enter your password
Please enter your password

Anindith Reddy clinches the 2015 Vento Cup title

November 30, 2015, 02:51 PM IST by Omkar Thakur
Anindith Reddy clinches the 2015 Vento Cup title

Anindith Reddy won the 2015 Vento Cup championship after a hard fought battle over four rounds and ten races held at the Buddh International Circuit in Delhi, India. Anindith Reddy, who won the Junior Championship last year, was followed by Karminder Pal Singh (First Runner-up) and Ishan Dodhiwala (Second Runner-up) for the championship standing.

The Round 4 of the Vento Cup had three races scheduled over the weekend with Race 1 on Saturday, 28 November and Race 2 and Race 3 on Sunday. Sailesh Bolisetti, came back with a vengeance after two dull rounds, to qualify in the pole position for Race 1. He dominated the race to finish first from pole by a distance. Anindith Reddy and Karminder Singh finished second and third respectively. Ishan Dodhiwala suffered braking issues and dropped to 12th position from fourth to climb his way back to finish fifth on the grid. Race 1 turned out to be unusually clean with not even a single racing incident to speak about.

Race 2, held on Sunday morning, turned out to be eventful with the safety car having to intervene thrice to ensure safety of the racers. The race rolled out with the safety car – the Audi R8 – leading the pack due to poor visibility. The safety car came out again after guest driver Zhang Quan Shang spun out. Prabhanj Pachauri led from pole in the reverse grid race before he got involved in an incident at the last corner of the fifth lap that ended his race. Karminder Singh, known for his proficiency on the reverse track, climbed to third position on lap three after starting sixth and took the lead on lap 5 after Pachauri crashed out. Race 2 also saw drivers going faster with the 180bhp Ventos preforming better in the cold weather and also owing to the drivers’ increased familiarity with the racetrack.

Race 3 started with Sailesh on pole and after a warning by race coach Rayomand Banajee to all racers to keep it clean. The championship was poised for a nail-biting finish with Anindith leading Karminder by just two points and starting ahead of the Delhi-based racer on the grid. Sailesh Bolisetti managed to maintain his lead from the start to win the final race of the season. Ishaan Dodhiwala won a hard fought second place on the podium followed by Anindith, who ensured his 2015 title by driving safe. Pradeep Rao Vaidyam won the Junior Championship in the 2015 Vento Cup and gets the free spot for next year’s championship.

An elated Anindith congratulated his fellow racers, especially Karminder Singh for pushing him in every race for a hard fought title and said he was looking forward to defend his title for the next season.

Tags:Volkswagen,Racing,Volkswagen Vento,Vento,Car racing,Vento CUP,India car racing
Show CommentsHide Comments

Volkswagen Vento Price in Popular Cities

CityOn-Road Prices
Mumbai₹ 10.21 Lakhs onwards
New Delhi₹ 9.76 Lakhs onwards
Kolkata₹ 9.58 Lakhs onwards
Hyderabad₹ 10.15 Lakhs onwards
Bangalore₹ 10.37 Lakhs onwards
Chennai₹ 9.91 Lakhs onwards
  • Upcoming Cars

Nissan KicksNissan Kicks

22nd Jan 2019

10L - ₹ 15L
Tata HarrierTata Harrier

23rd Jan 2019

16L - ₹ 22L
Maruti Suzuki New Wagon RMaruti Suzuki New Wagon R

23rd Jan 2019

4L - ₹ 6L
Mercedes-Benz V-ClassMercedes-Benz V-Class

24th Jan 2019

75L - ₹ 85L
Mahindra XUV300Mahindra XUV300

14th Feb 2019

8L - ₹ 12L
All Upcoming Cars
Ask the experts1800 2090 230Mon-Fri (9 AM - 8 PM)
Sat (9 AM - 5:30 PM)
Sun (9 AM - 7 PM)
Toll free

Select your city to avail offers

Currently available only in