It delivers nothing beyond your requirements

A user review on Mahindra Verito. Written by Sandeep on 17 November, 2011

Price: ₹ 6.42 - 7.76 lakhs
Ex-showroom, New Delhi
Verito Details | On Road Price
Sandeep's Ratings
Own a Mahindra Verito? Help others make an informed buying decision.

Write a Review

  • Overall
  • Looks
  • Performance
  • Space/Comfort
  • Fuel Economy
  • Value For Money
Version Reviewed : 1.5 D4 BS-III
Purchased As : New
Familiarity : Have driven a few thousands kilometres
Fuel Economy : 23 kpl
Good : Excellent Fuel economy, Sturdyness, Space
Bad : Hard clutch (so far) now it does not feel as it was

Full Review

Exterior After 6 months full of thoughts, advises, reviews, dealer visits & test drives, I finally purchased Verito D4 in Diamond White Colour on 20th October 2011. I have test driven Fabia, Manza, Indigo, Punto, Swift, Rits, Polo, Vista, Etios & Liva. I cancelled my booking of Swift which was to be delivered on 24th October (Dhanteras). Today my odo clocked at 1054 in the morning. Appealling front, black roofrails, chrome designing on butt, double side biddings, I dont understand how people name this vehicle "BOXY LOOK". I find it very appealling, sporty and gentle.

Interior (Features, Space & Comfort) Though the switches of power windows, wipers & lights are on odd sides, but within 20 days I became familiar to them and now I can operate them with closed eyes. Apart these, every thing is well placed, smooth & solid. However, there is no place for a water bottle which is needed anyway. On the other hand, if we see the space, it feels like we are sitting in some spacious room or something. I have my wife, two kids and my mother in my family and there is no problem in sitting in this big vehicle. Rather we can adjust another person on back seat.

Engine Performance, Fuel Economy and Gearbox Engine is very smooth and responsive. Though the pick up is not so great as in swift, but there is alway a feeling of responsibility in its pick up. The vehicle dont zip like toddlers, but really behave like matured and responsible MAN. And once it is out of second gear, the great feeling to be in a sturdy and posh vehicle comes and really, driver do not want to stop enjoying the pleasure of driving this beautiful powerful machine. If we come to fuel economy, I was expecting it to be around 18-19 kmpl in city conditions. But with great pleasurable surprise, it is delivering more than 22 kmpl in cramp traffic conditions of festivals and marriages and moreover, since its purchase, I am driving in city and yet to touch any highway. And this is only beginning as it ran only 1000 kms and FE tends to rise after 1st or 2nd service. It is literally beyond my expectations and really welcome. Regarding gear shifting, I need to place that I have never driven any luxury vehicle like above 10 lacs and till purchase of this vehicle, I was driving Maruti Zen for the last 8 years and gear shifting of Verito is no less than of that. I find it smooth and upto the mark and never faced any problem. 

Ride Quality & Handling Ride quality is excellent. However, I am feeling that the clutch is somehow hard and should have been more smooth so as to reduce effort in bumper to bumper traffic condition. On being asked for this, the company people told that it will be smoother after 2nd service or say after 5000 kms.

Final Words As I stated in my heading, "it delivers nothing beyond your requirements", this vehicle fulfill all your requirements whether fuel economy, durability, sturdiness, sedan car, exterior looks or so on. Now only if u think of silly amenities like Bluetooth, steering mounted audio controls, rear AC vents, double blower etc. etc., u find this awsome vehicle less than ur expectation. Another thing I need to reveal that the reason of its low road presence is only its low road presence. I mean than v people decide to purchase the vehicle on our friends or relatives advise / looking neighbours, coulleagues purchasing which vehicle and never apply the common sense that v are going to purchase the vehicle with our hard money and for our convenience. And I am sure, as soon as people become learnt qualities of this vehicle, u will see it everywhere.

Areas of improvement As I said, clutch should be more smooth and light right from 1st kilometer driving. Apart from these, one or two bottle space need to be incorporated in interiors.

DATE : 29.03.2012 I AM EDITING MY REVIEW

So, my odo now clocked at 7300 km mark and i driven this vehicle for one long journey from Jaipur to Jammu. And i could not believe at once, it delivered a overall mileage of more than 26 kmpl. Its more than amazing n surprising to me. Moreover, the AC was on all the time. I m very much happy with my choice. The hard clutch softened very much and the pick up in 1/2nd gear improved drastically. Now it zooms even in 1/2nd gear. On highways, though i drive between the range of 90-100 km/h but whenever needed, the vehicle responded beautifully, particularly at the time of overtaking. And as it is already more than five months of ownership of this awesome machine, i have full confidence n control over it and over my driving. I keep saying myself GREAT CHOICE SANDEEP.  

DATE : 14.05.2014 I AM EDITING MY REVEIW

Now, it is 33,000 kms of effortless and uninterrupted driving with my Verito-D4. At this juncture, many crucial points are to discuss. First of all the cost of paid service, for which i never paid beyond 3500/- for regular kind of service (inclusive oil change). The vehicle is running really great. Since it purchase, i have been at Dalhousie, Dharmshala, McLeodganj, Shirdi, Nainital and upto Baralacha Pass (approx 100 kms before Leh) with this vehicle and have to say, this vehicle supported my jouney like anything. I have no words for praising it. Meanwhile, very important issue to reveal that i met with an accident in July 2013 when i was driving to Bikaner from Jaipur. I was follwing a truck which suddenly stoppled due to road maintenance and as at the very moment, i was changing the pendrive in my music system, i could not notice the issue in time and all of sudden i was nearly 8-9 meters from that stable truck with a speed around 95 kms/hr with no airbags in my car. I just stood up on my breaks but at last, my car hit that truck at behind and all the front part of the car got crushed. It happened within 2-3 seconds and as i wake up from sleep, come to know that i had a severe accident. First of all, i checked myself whether everything intact or not, or say am i alive. Surprisingly, not a single scratch poised upon my whole body. Then i came out of car and checked the vehicle, the poor car got damaged serverely with all parts in bonet (including radiator, airconditioner, coolent tank, cover of engine) crushed, the windshield got broken, both side fenders were shrinked and diesel tank was blasted. I was shivering with fear that if it would be a etios or dezire or alto, i would also have crushed alongwith car. That time, i noticed that the car was having a thick beam of steel behind the plastic bumper. It came out only with reason that the plastic bumper converted into small plastic pieces. That time i came to know that the reason for my survival in this severe accident, is this beam which did not allow to shrink the car body upon me and remained the steering bar at its place. U can imagine the intensity of the accident with the repairing bill amount- 1,77,000/-. 

After repairing, the car become like it was and my family suggested that the car should be sold now as it is ominous as i met with an severe accident in it. But on the contrary, i reciprocated with words that this car is not ominous, rather it has proven divine as even after having an accident an 95 kms with no airbags, i remained unscratched and then i did so what i meant.

I am still driving my Verito, my divine car, with more love & affection than any time in the past. 

11192 Views, 54 of 55 people found this review useful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Inappropriate Review? Report Abuse

Comments Latest 10 are shown

Sandeep on 14 May, 2014 at 01:14 PM

This review is updated

M Bajaj on 30 Mar, 2012 at 11:53 AM

Dear Sandeep,

Gr8 review. I have always been saying that logan/Verito is the most underrated car in this country.

Only because it looks boxy (my opinion) incomparison to Dzire/Manza/Sunny etc, ppl do not want to buy this car.

Pls do post some pics of your car man !! Also, tell us how much you spend on the servicing of the car

Sandeep on 30 Mar, 2012 at 11:30 AM

This review is updated

Sandeep on 17 Nov, 2011 at 04:21 PM

Dear Friends,

I have written a review on Mahindra Verito and look forward to your comments on it.

Review Link: It delivers nothing beyond your requirements 

Thanks.

Previous Review
Next Review

More Reviews on Mahindra Verito


Comfortable ride in Mumbai traffic by Satyen on 01 Jun, 2011

All about VERITO by sanjayn on 10 Jul, 2011

My first long drive in Verito D4 in very bad weather by Dr. Keshav Sharma on 11 Jul, 2011

Verito for working executive and professionals by Bhupesh Karankar on 12 Jun, 2011
All Mahindra Verito user reviews

User Car Reviews
Read thousands of reviews on new cars.

  • Read Reviews or browse Car Reviews
Comments


Report