BEWARE! THINK BEFORE YOU BUY A CHEVY IN INDIA-LEARN FROM OUR EXPERIENCE

A user review on Chevrolet Optra SRV [2006-2010]. Written by K.Marg on 10 March, 2009

Price: ₹ N/A
Ex-showroom, New Delhi
Optra SRV [2006-2010] Details | On Road Price
K.Marg's Ratings
Own a Chevrolet Optra SRV [2006-2010]? Help others make an informed buying decision.

Write a Review

  • Overall
  • Looks
  • Performance
  • Space/Comfort
  • Fuel Economy
  • Value For Money
Version Reviewed : 1.6
Purchased As :  
Familiarity :
Fuel Economy : kpl
Good : Look only
Bad : Poor Built quality, Inferior quality of steel used in body panels, Decay

Full Review

JUST THOUGHT OF SHARING OUR EXPERIENCE WITH GM'S POOR BUILT QUALITY. CAR IS DONE JUST 12000 KMS, LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD AND STILL UNDER WARRANTY. THE CAR RUSTED EVERYWHERE IN IT'S PANELS. ALL FOUR DOORS GOT CORRODED AND BADLY DECAYED. OXIDIZATION OF BODY PANELS POPPING UP EVERYWHERE BE IT IN TRUNK, FENDERS, RUNNING BOARD ETC., GM REPLACED THE DOORS ONLY UNDER WARRANTY AS A TOKEN OF APPRECIATION OF THEIR OWN BUILT QUALITY & DID SOME TOUCH UP JOB. NOT CONVINCED ABOUT THE VEHICLE QUALITY WE DEMANDED OUR MONEY BACK. YET TO GETGM'S RESPONSE. ALSO, PLANNING TO TAKE IT UP THROUGH CONSUMER FORUMS/LEGAL REMEDIES. BEWARE BEFORE YOU ZERO IN ON A CHEVY BASED ON THE DEEP DISCOUNTS BEING CURRENTLY OFFERED. YOU MIGHT END UP OWNING A RUSTED STEEL JUNK SOON IN YOUR CARAGE OR BACKYARD.

15546 Views, 11 of 12 people found this review useful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Inappropriate Review? Report Abuse

Comments Latest 10 are shown

Raghu on 21 Dec, 2009 at 12:02 PM

What about Optra 1.6 2004 model. I am planning to by a second hand car for Rs.3.1 Lacs. Please advice me if my plan is incorrect...Thanks. Raghu

Kannan M on 12 Oct, 2009 at 08:23 PM

Hi Hiran, I don't need to convince everybody in the world. If you don't beleive the problem of rust, you may check with Mr.Akshay Pandit of GM or Mr.Krishnan, the Service Manager in charge for Chevy at Sundaram Motors, who has replaced all the door panels at Free of Cost(I have given the car ref no in this trail). Do you think that GMI will do it just for fun? If you are lucky enough not to have this problem in your SRV, feel happy about it and enjoy yourself.

Sanket on 30 Sep, 2009 at 03:08 PM

I plan to buy a Optra SRV second hand car, will any of you suggest me is the car is good for buy. And the seller asking price is around 4.5 Lacks. Please advice as soon as possible. Reply me at skchandail@gmail.com Thanks Sanket

Cxcx Xvcxvx on 09 Sep, 2009 at 09:43 PM

Is it a joke ? GM and build quality?. The cars just fall apart. Do not ever fall for a GM car

Hiran on 09 Sep, 2009 at 07:28 PM

Mr Kannnan, you seem to be trying to bring the Chevy image down. I do not think u r a genuine owner of an SRV. if you have one....and if the case is true....plz do forward your images. let me see them regarding rust and stuff.....Chevy cars do not rust even in coastal areas.... did u buy a new one or used one??? We have an SRV too.....and m porud of it sbuild quality... no other manufacturer can come anywhere CLOSE to it TRUST ME!

Ravisankar Siddamsetty on 10 Jun, 2009 at 04:57 PM

the opel astra of 1998 (petrol) with me for the last 10years +, is just so fantastic that i hate to change it even as it grows old. yes service of late is becoming painful. each time you visit garage even like sundaram motors bangalore, you get new problems due to bad handling and fitting. private garages are far superior in thier work

Anand Gulabani on 03 Jun, 2009 at 12:44 AM

Mr Kannan can u tell me some other such case with SRV...reply on don_never_dies2000@yahoo.com

Kannan M on 13 Mar, 2009 at 05:12 PM

Hi Omkarsingh, The photographs of Rusted Body Panels are with GM's Chennai Dealer M/s Sundaram Motors. You can refer the Vehicle No. 4001. Let me also check our archives.

Omkar Singh on 12 Mar, 2009 at 03:15 PM

Hi Mr Kannan .. seems to be an interesting case .. can you mail me the pictures of the rusted areas on omkarsan@gmail.com

Kannan M on 10 Mar, 2009 at 04:41 PM

Dear Friends,

I have written a review on Chevrolet Optra SRV and look forward to your comments on it.

Review Link: BEWARE! THINK BEFORE YOU BUY A CHEVY IN INDIA-LEARN FROM OUR EXPERIENCE 

Thanks.

Previous Review
Next Review

More Reviews on Chevrolet Optra SRV [2006-2010]


Its got the Oooomph!!! by Jason on 14 May, 2008

Do not buy cars from Triumph Motors Delhi by Anshuman on 05 Dec, 2008

Buying a 2007 used SRV - suggetions required by surajsood on 06 Mar, 2012
All Chevrolet Optra SRV [2006-2010] user reviews

User Car Reviews
Read thousands of reviews on new cars.

  • Read Reviews or browse Car Reviews
Comments


Report