for best experience

Temporary Move bike: Chennai to Bangalore

Pages : 123
#1 15-Nov, 2009 09:03 PM
anonymous
Amit
New Arrival
Joined Date: 0

I am presently studying in Bangalore and want to drive my TN registered bike in Chennai here. I do not want to change the registration to KA. What procedure should I follow? And for how long will I be able to drive here without renewing?

1. Is an NOC necessary?
2. What abt KA road tax/ insurance/ etc?

Appreciate the help...

Amit.

0 members liked this post

#2 15-Nov, 2009 09:14 PM
Pankaj Prasad
Joined Date: 29 Sep 2007

For temp. relocation not exceeding 1 year, the registration number will not undergo any change.  You will, however, have to pay tax, as applicable. 

For relocation exceeding 1 year, you will need to get the bike re-registered by paying life-time tax, as applicable to old vehicles on depreciated value.  NOC (Chennai) will be required.

Honesty is not a Spare Wheel that you pull out when in trouble. It's a Steering Wheel that keeps you on the right path throughout the life's journey.

#3 15-Nov, 2009 09:21 PM
anonymous
Amit
New Arrival
Joined Date: 0

Thanks!

Please explain what I will need to do for single year relocation, at both RTO's.

Are there no provisions for students who wish to keep their vehicles unregistered for 2 or maybe 3 years.

#4 15-Nov, 2009 09:40 PM
Pankaj Prasad

I'm not aware of exact procedures & forms to be filled up for the purpose.  But I understand that for temp. relocation not exceeding one year you just need to pay tax, as applicable.  Some states accept 1-year tax while in some states you need to pay life-time tax (based on depreciated value assessed by RTO).  In that case, you can seek pro-rata refund of the same while relocating back within a year.

I'm afraid there is no provision for temp. relocation for 2-3 years or so for students in particular.

RTO rules vary a little from state to state.  Please ascertain finer details locally.