Select Your City

for best experience

Fiat Palio is a good value for money and a good entry Hatchback car

A user review on Fiat Palio [2001-2005]. Written by vinod.kumat on 10 July, 2009

Price: ₹ N/A
Ex-showroom, New Delhi
Palio [2001-2005] Details | On Road Price
vinod.kumat's Ratings
Own a Fiat Palio [2001-2005]? Help others make an informed buying decision.

Write a Review

  • Overall
  • Looks
  • Performance
  • Space/Comfort
  • Fuel Economy
  • Value For Money
Version Reviewed : 1.2 EL
Purchased As :  
Familiarity :
Fuel Economy : kpl
Good : Good style and value for money. Fuel average is okay for its size and power.
Bad : Bad image initially due to fuel eff. Poor response by Fiat / Tata dealers in service.

Full Review

I am  an admirer of Fiat, as our family owned a Fiat 1100 (1971 model) for 38 yrs and have just sold it now. I too own a Fiat Palio for last 7 years and it is quite rugged and comfortable car. It gives me fuel efficiency of 10-11 in the city and up to 15 on Highway. I have maintained a full record of each fuel fill and KMs done since the day I bought on 1 July, 2002.Most people do not maintain records and complain about fuel efficiency or do not top up tank at each fill and suffer high evaporation and that lacks accuracy in measurement.

It's  a good family car and rides "chipak ke"very well on the highway - Good handling and easy to maintain.

It used to give me better average of 13 to 14 KM/Ltr when I was in Jaipur for about a year, but gives less in Mumbai traffic, everyone knows about it, as you can hardly drive beyond 3rd Gear and you're mostly struggling with clutch and brake.

I too wanted to book Fiat Linea as my two cousins have recently bought a Fiat Linea each, but finally booked a Maruti Swift Dzire VDI, as I feel that dealer's service is an issue in case of Fiat cars, even though it has been taken over by TATA showrooms now and also the re-sale value of Fiat cars as compared to Maruti cars.

I am likely to get my car delivery by 15th August-09 and will get back on its performance soon after driving it.

12697 Views, 6 of 6 people found this review useful
Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

Inappropriate Review? Report Abuse

Comments Latest 10 are shown

Vinod Kumat on 17 Nov, 2009 at 03:22 PM

Dear Vivek, Just check out the Carwale site for used cars and you will come to know of it. Then also check out with one or two car dealers of old cars. As per me, if the condition is good, it should cost you around Rs.50000/-. Vinod Kumat

Vivek on 17 Nov, 2009 at 03:09 PM

Dear Vinod, I am planning to purchase a used Pallio, below are few details make: 2003 (used in Mumbai) KM: 12000 km AC : yes Power steering: yes what should be the approx cost of it? Thanks Vivek Patil.

Vinod Kumat on 27 Oct, 2009 at 04:56 PM

Dear Mr. Pathak, The Carwale site itself can help you if you post your requirement in Used Car section. Besides there are many other sites also selling second hand cars. I am not selling mine right now. As for engine work, it depends on running and maintenance by the owner/driver. You may need not any engine overhaul done up to 2 Lakh KMs on a well maintained car. But at least 1 Lakh KMs can be safely estimated for average cars.No I have not faced any problem on engine performance Vinod Kuma

Uk Patnayak on 27 Oct, 2009 at 02:08 PM

Dear Vinodji, Can u plz guide me on purcahse of a used Palio of your Model. What's the max km level/ run when enginework need to be done ? Have u ever faced any problem with engine performance ? Thnx UK Pathak

Vinod Kumat on 17 Aug, 2009 at 10:14 AM

Dear Nagesh, Hi. Spares are sometimes not available with the Authorised Dealer, but mostly they are available. I have never got stuck for repair for this reason. In the market outside also, they are available, sometimes cheaper than the Autho. dealer. So you can go ahead for a second hand Palio. No need to drop the deal for this reason. Hope it helps. Vinod

Nagesh on 17 Aug, 2009 at 01:55 AM

Hi Vinod, Thanks for your thought on Pallio. I am planing to go for a second hand palio. Saw many reviews on spares not available. Is this true? Can I go ahead and purchase or should I drop the deal? Please suggest. Thanks, Nagesh

Vinod Kumat on 10 Jul, 2009 at 01:14 PM

Dear Friends,

I have written a review on Fiat Palio and look forward to your comments on it.

Review Link: Fiat Palio is a good value for money and a good entry Hatchback car 

Thanks.

Previous Review
Next Review

More Reviews on Fiat Palio [2001-2005]


2002 Fiat Palio 1.2 ELX 53,000kms Ownership by Banwari on 13 Apr, 2010

Great Value for money car by Sharat on 15 Dec, 2006

Most admirable Hatchback - Palio 1.6 GTX by Speed on 16 Nov, 2007

Freaky by Rachit on 22 Dec, 2008

Fiat Palio - a sheer driving pleasure by Mayur on 15 Mar, 2007
All Fiat Palio [2001-2005] user reviews

User Car Reviews
Read thousands of reviews on new cars.

  • Read Reviews or browse Car Reviews
Comments


Report

Ask the Experts

1800 2090 230

(Toll free)